Unlawful Discrimination Solicitors in London

Types of Discrimination

The following types of discrimination apply to all the protected characteristics under the Equality Act 2010:

  1. Direct Discrimination
  2. Indirect Discrimination
  3. Victimisation
  4. Harrassment

The following are some of the Protected Characteristics under the Act:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

Direct Discrimination

This occurs where one worker is treated differently from another because of a protected characteristic.

Indirect Discrimination

This occurs when a certain work practice is applied which puts workers who share a particular protected characteristic at a disadvantage.


Occurs when a worker is treated badly because they have previously complained of discrimination or helped someone who has been discriminated against.


Occurs when there is unwanted conduct related to a protected characteristic such as violating the worker’s dignity, or creating an intimidating, hostile, degrading, humiliating or offensive environment.

Who can claim discrimination?

The Equality Act 2010 protects a wider range of workers than merely employees employed under a contract of employment. It protects job applicants, apprentices, employees, former employees and contract workers.

Unlawful Discrimination Solicitors in London

This is a complicated area of law and it can make all the difference if you get legal advice on your situation. We understand how upsetting discrimination can be in the workplace and we will help you work through this difficult time.

Telephone us on 020 8318 4345 or send us an email, briefly outlining the nature of your enquiry to enquiries@as-solicitors.com